Tag: dui law

What You Should Know About An Under-aged DUI

Getting Involved With A DUI When Under 21

Butler Law Firm | Under-aged Drinking in Houston TXThere are studies that have shown that close to 40% of the drunk driving issues that end in fatalities happened in Texas in 2014 with the drivers being under 21. One of the top reasons for fatalities on the road is drunk driving, and that’s why getting a DUI at under 21 means stricter penalties. If you’re not old enough to drink and have been charged with a DUI, you need to know what the consequences are. dr jean dodd and ivermectin In the blog here, we’ll let you know what a DUI attorney can tell you about penalties you’re faced with.

Texas is what is known as a zero tolerance state.

If you’re over 21 years of age, you can get a DUI if your BAC is more than .08% but Texas is a state with zero tolerance. If you are under 21, this means that you may be charged with a DUI if you have a BAC over .00%. If you drink even one drink and drive then you could get a DUI if you’re not 21 years of age.

The Legal Problems That Stem From An Underage DUI

If you’re arrested for getting a DUI, you could end up dealing with these penalties.

The First DUI

  • Going to jail from 3 to 180 days
  • A fine reaching up to $2,000
  • A license that’s suspended for up to 90 days

Your Second DUI

  • You could go to jail for one year
  • The fine will be up to $4000
  • A suspended license lasting a year

There are more problems than just these if you are a driver under 21 that gets a DUI. It depends on what happened, but here are some things you can face:

  • Endangering a child violations
  • A minor in possession charge
  • Giving alcohol to minors
  • Alcohol soliciting
  • Possession of an ID that’s fake
  • More traffic violations

When you get a DUI it can make you have to pay more in insurance costs, too. A lot of insurance companies see someone with a DUI as someone who is a risk and they may even cancel your policy. ivermectina para cachorro dose Other times, they may make you pay a hundred or more for a period of time after you get the DUI. You can end up paying $12,000 extra in insurance over just 5 years!

If you got arrested for being an underage drinker with a DUI, you need a DUI lawyer in Houston that can help. rabbit dosage ivermectin The process involving a DUI can be hard to deal with, especially if you’re underage. Butler Law Firm has a team of professionals that will work as hard as they can to help this turn out better for you.

You should contact us today by giving us a call to get a consultation that’s free.

Frequently Asked Texas DUI Law Questions

About Texas DUI Law

Butler Law Firm | Houston DUI LawThe Harris Poll shows that almost half of people surveyed are likely to look at a website with lawyers on it to learn more about legal matters. This is something that a lot of people do that have legal issues.

You can use the internet to find legal assistance on the cheap because over half of the lawyers with practices and most with firms have a website. That’s why if you need to get legal help, you can find it online when searching for local attorneys.

One of the main reasons people need legal help is due to getting a DUI. There are over a million people each year that get a DUI as their first offense. sportfogadás app In the state of Texas in 2015, there were close to 100,000 arrests for DUIs with 70,000 or so convictions. If you ever have to deal with a DUI in Texas, there are legal questions you may have. Prior to working with anyone in the legal field, go through the FAQs here.

What are the area’s BAC limits set at? tippmix szelvény nyertes

If you are of legal drinking age, you have to have a BAC of over 0.08% to be convicted of a DUI and if you’re driving a commercial vehicle the limit is half of that at 0.04%. If you’re not of legal drinking age, you can’t have any alcohol at all in your system legally.

What if I’m a minor? What will happen if I’m caught when I’m drinking and driving?

Texas is known for having a zero tolerance policy with alcohol and minors. elo tippmix If you are a first time offender, here are some of the ways you can get into trouble:

  • Suspended license for up to a whole year.
  • A fine of $500
  • Working with a 12-hour program on alcohol education
  • A device that locks your ignition if you’re drunk and/or community service
  • What if I’m over 21? What happens during the first time DUI offense?
  • You pay up to a $2,000 fine
  • Go to jail for 180 days
  • Suspended license that lasts for 2 years
  • An education program based on DWI intervention policies
  • A device that locks the ignition on your vehicle if you have alcohol in your system
  • An annual fee that is up to $2,000 for up to 3 years to hang onto your license
  • Do I have to take a breathalyzer?

You cannot decline this test. Everyone in TX has to consent to the chemical tests like the breath or blood tests when they are pulled over. If you refuse to take a test, you may get an 180 day ALR (administrative license revocation)

If you have a DUI charge in the city of Houston, you need to start by searching online for the best DUI attorney in Houston Texas for the job. Call or contact Butler Law Firm today for your free consultation. If you have any comments or questions, leave them below here.

These DUI Myths Are Far From The Truth

Top DUI Myths Debunked

In the United States, drunk driving is a huge problem. Over a million people per year are arrested for their first DUI offense. Even though this is common, being arrested for DUI does require legal assistance.

If you are ever arrested or in trouble for suspected drunk driving, then don’t panic because it will make things worse. What you really need is legal protection you can afford, but we do what to discuss some facts about DUIs. There is a lot of info out there that are myths and facts, so keep these in mind if you are ever pulled over for drinking under the influence.

1. You Have To Take Field Sobriety Tests

The fact is you don’t have to. A police officer will likely make you feel otherwise, but it’s not true. In Texas, you’re not required to take field sobriety tests, but it is a good idea to cooperate with police. You’ll also want to inform them that you will comply with anything you have to comply with if it’s a legal request.

2. Breathalyzers Are Accurate

They are not as reliable as many people think they are. Blood tests are the only proven way to accurately measure blood alcohol content. Breathalyzers can estimate based on alcohol on your breath, but it can still be inaccurate. gaminator szint táblázat Breathalyzers may be mandatory also, here soon. Not only that but the results may be false due to human error or if the device wasn’t properly calibrated. www tippmix hu mobil

Other factors can affect the readings too. Remember, you don’t have to take a breathalyzer, but if you go to court, then this may look like an admission of guilt. If you do take the test, it can be evidence of your guilt, even if the results are not that accurate. DUI lawyers in Houston Texas or elsewhere in Texas can help you if you have failed a Breathalyzer test and you believe it was inaccurate.

 

3. You Don’t Need An Attorney If Pleading Guilty

Butler Law Firm |  DWI Attorney in Houston TXIt doesn’t matter what you plead, you need legal help. The laws surrounding DUIs is complicated. You don’t want to attempt to take on your case all by yourself. You might end up being hit with a harsher sentence than you would have faced if you had hired an attorney.

You might need to challenge evidence in court and if your attorney is successful, that evidence may be tossed out or limited, but if it is overwhelming and you plead guilty, then things can become complicated. At least if you have an attorney by your side, they will work to minimize your punishment. If you were fighting on your own, you might not be able to minimize the punishment.

If you have a legal insurance plan, then this can help reduce costs associated with hiring legal counsel. Such plans can reduce the amount of stress too. sportfogadás eb If you want to learn more about the plans we provide and what these plans covered, then feel free to call or contact us as soon as possible. Do not put this off and the sooner you take action, the sooner you can be prepared in the event you’re arrested for DUI.

Paying The Piper For A DWI In Texas

Don’t Drive While Drunk – It’s Not Worth The Cost

So you’re ready to leave the party, but you’ve been drinking. Even if you feel fine, it is never a good idea to drive after you’ve had a drink or two. Thousands of people just like you are arrested every year for driving while intoxicated. Drunk drivers also cause accidents, injuries and even fatalities. Even though there are numerous public campaigns warning about the hazards of driving while drunk, people are still getting arrested and faced with heavy penalties or fines.

Drunk Driving Accidents

There were 10,000 people killed by drunk drivers in 2016. These fatalities happened to people who were riding in the vehicle and to those who were in other vehicles or who were pedestrians. Death by drunk driving doesn’t discriminate.

The Average Age Of A Drunk Driver

A high number of drunk drivers are between 18 and 24 years old. This demographic makes up more than 25 percent of all DWI arrests. ivermectin topical solution This population is also one of the largest repeat offenders. Many states are trying to strengthen their DWI laws. These states, such as Washington, are making it a felony if a person is arrested for a DWI more than two times. Some states have even harsher laws that make any DWI arrest a felony.

The Types Of Alcohol Involved In DWI Arrests

More than half of those who were arrested for DWI were drinking beer. Another 20 percent admitted to drinking more than one type of alcohol before they got into their car. Mixing alcohols can often result in intoxication more quickly.

Butler Law Firm | Paying For A DWI In Houston TXDWIs By State

California had the highest number of DWI arrests in 2015. There were 214,828 arrests in this state with the largest population in the United States. Delaware had the lowest DWI arrest rate. This makes sense when you consider that Delaware has one of the lowest populations in the country. Even so, Delaware’s arrest numbers were lower than states with similar populations. There is no clear reason for this discrepancy. ivermectin oral dosage cattle States are focusing their anti-drunk driving advertisements to specific demographics in an attempt to reduce the number of DWIs.

DWI Convictions

If you have been arrested, you will be needing a good Houston attorney for DWI. A conviction can lead to heavy fines, penalties and possible jail time. The attorneys at Butler Law Firm are ready to help. We specialize in drunk driving arrests and can help both you get through this process. We are also experienced at helping victims of drunk driving get the justice they deserve. ivermectin affordable

It is important to hire an attorney who specializes in this area of the law. They understand the process and know how to get the best deal for the accused. They are skilled at determining when evidence may be tainted such as an improperly administered roadside breath test.

If you have been a victim of a drunk driving accident, it is important to hire an attorney who is experienced in these types of personal injury cases. There are many nuances involved in one of these cases and our attorneys are skilled at building the strongest case possible.

It is clearly a bad idea to drive while drunk. You can impact many lives with this poor decision, including your own.