Category: 1st DUI Offense

DUI Law Texas - Butler Law Firm - The Houston DWI Lawyer

Everything You Need To Know About DWI Law

What is DWI Law?

If you have ever been charged with a DUI, you may be wondering what to expect when you’re facing the consequences of your charge. Here, you’ll learn the penalties you can expect, your rights under the law, and the most important factors you need to consider if you’re convicted. This article will answer these questions and much more. Keep reading to find out how the laws affect you. Once you’re aware of what to expect, you’ll be better prepared to face any future consequences.

First DUI Charge

Whether you were arrested for a first DUI charge or have been convicted for a second or third, you are entitled to a defense. Generally speaking, the outcome of your first DUI charge is a guilty plea and court judgment. However, with a proper defense strategy, you may be able to get the charges dismissed or reduced. If you have been arrested for a second or third DUI charge, there are several steps you should take right away to minimize the impact of your arrest.

A first DUI charge under the DWI law is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to six months to a year in jail. Some states, such as New Jersey, have shorter maximum jail sentences for first DUI offenses. Still, many states require jail time for first-time DUI offenders. So, be prepared for jail time. Here’s a basic guide to a jail sentence for your first DUI offense.

Second DUI Charge

If you are caught with a second DUI in less than 10 years, your penalties will be more severe. You will most likely receive a jail sentence of 90 days to 6 months. Additionally, you’ll have to install an ignition interlock device for at least two years and pay for it. A DUI conviction is a serious offense that can have serious financial and personal consequences. For this reason, you should not ignore the consequences of your first DUI.

The first step in a DUI case is an investigation by the police. After speaking to the driver, an officer will write a report describing their observations. During this investigation, the officer may note certain things about the driver, including their appearance, conversations, smells, and other physical traits. Once they’ve completed this investigation, they may arrest the driver based on the results of a breath test and other field sobriety tests.

DUI Penalties

DUI Penalties under DWI Law vary widely depending on your state. Your first offense will likely be a misdemeanor, meaning you can expect to pay fines and spend as little time in jail as possible. Other jurisdictions require a certain minimum period in jail to discourage drunk driving, which can result in a far more serious sentence. Additionally, a third or subsequent offense may result in imprisonment for up to seven years.

In addition to the standard jail time, DUI offenders can also face license suspension. A license suspension can occur when you are found guilty of a DUI, as well as if you are convicted and failed a breath or blood test. You may also be required to take alcohol classes. In addition to the mandatory DUI penalties, you may lose your driver’s license. Your license is also at risk, so hiring a DWI attorney is a wise move.

DUI Conviction

If you were arrested for a DUI, you should consider hiring a DUI defense attorney. A DUI conviction can carry heavy penalties, such as jail time, alcohol classes, and a suspended driver’s license. Taking a breathalyzer test is also considered a violation, and a refusal can result in license revocation for three years or longer. The penalty for refusal also increases if the driver had a minor passenger.

A DUI conviction is the first step in the legal process. Depending on the circumstances, a DUI conviction may carry a hefty fine and license-related penalties. State laws set a range of penalties based on a person’s prior DUI convictions. The first conviction carries a maximum fine of $500, while a second conviction may carry a maximum fine of $2,000, and a third offense could result in up to seven years in prison.

Contact The Butler Law Firm Right Now

Mr. Butler is the owner of this criminal law office in Houston. He will do everything in his power as a legal official to receive the justest outcome for his client. Feel free to contact or call Atty. Jim Butler right now to get your free consultation to see what a skilled attorney can do for you. Visit our blog for more related articles.

Why You Should Avoid 1st & 2nd DUI Charge

The Effects Of 1st & 2nd DUI Offense

DUI Lawyer Role in HoustonA minimum average fine of $1,500 and any extra cost for the DUI classes and attorney fees are the penalties for DUI associated with alcohol or drugs that can affect your life for the 1st offense in 2022. Other effects include having a criminal record for the rest of your life as well as the cost of installing an alcohol ignition interlock device in your vehicle. A person can expect their insurance premiums to increase or even end up being un-insurable, even for a first offense.

How does a second DUI offense affect my life? That’s a question that might be circling the mind of a person arrested for a repeat offense. A 30-day minimum jail sentence, increased court fines, additional drug/alcohol classes and a 1 to 3 year license suspension are among the things that repeat offenders can expect.

The Effect Of A DUI Charge On My Criminal Record & Future Background Checks For Job Openings

A person who pleads guilty, or is convicted for a DUI charge will have to live with a permanent criminal record for the rest of their life. This is considered to be one of the most damaging effects of a DWI or DUI charge on an individual’s life. For both current and future job opportunities, this mark on your criminal record will always be there, waiting to be discovered.

If a prospective employer runs a background check and discovers the Driving Under the Influence charge on your record, your ability to be get a job in the future may be negatively affected. Seeking employment as a truck driver who needs a commercial driver’s license, firefighter, teacher, government official, police officer, nurse and other jobs in a variety of other professions will be virtually impossible.

There are many devices and apps that are designed to help drivers avoid DUI charges and offenses by showing them how to prevent DUI arrests; even as Driving Under the Influence laws and technology designed to help law enforcement officers catch offenders evolve to help them increase their arrests. Thanks to these driver focused apps and devices, drivers can avoid making the mistake of driving while intoxicated; and with it, avoid the immediate and lifelong effects of having a DUI on their permanent criminal record.

Furthermore, for those who already have their first DUI offense, this promising technology that is designed to help drivers avoid DUI arrests can help them avoid a second offense by making it easier for them to steer clear of any mistakes that might land them a second DUI charge in future. By reducing the chances of another offense, this technology acts as a proactive way of avoiding any further impact on an individual’s life.

We invite you to contact or call us today if you are in need of a experienced DWI attorney. Visit our blog for more related articles.