Every 20 minutes, someone gets killed in Texas because of a car accident involving alcohol. If you use to drink and drive, you should take full responsibility for the consequences. Even better, you should stop doing it immediately! We are going to be going over what is a DWI in Texas, and what can happen from driving while intoxicated.
How To Know When To Stop?
The intoxication level depends on various factors. Your impairment depends on your gender, age, and body weight, as well as on the amount of food you’ve eaten. For instance, having three beers within one hour can make you legally impaired. Generally speaking, women and younger people need less alcohol to get legally intoxicated.
Legal DWI Considerations
In Texas, a driver may be arrested and charged with DWI with as little as .08 BAC. Nonetheless, someone impaired with alcohol may cause an accident regardless of their blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC). Even more, if you have an open alcohol bottle or beer can in your vehicle, you risk a fine of up to $500, whether you are the driver or a simple passenger.
DWI When You Have A Child In Your Vehicle
Driving under influence can lead to child endangerment charges if you have a passenger who isn’t 15 years of age yet. Here are some penalties for DWI with a child passenger:
- Up to $10,000 fine
- Up to two years jail time
- License suspended for 180 days
When You Are Pulled Over
If you’re pulled over, you have to show your driver license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance. Beware that the refusal of a blood or breath test will get your license suspended for 180 days right off the bat.
The punishment for DWI depends on your number of convictions:
First DWI Offense
- Up to $2,000 fine
- Between 3 and 180 days in jail
- Driver license suspended for up to one year
- An annual fee between $1,000 and $2,000 for three years to retain your license.
Second DWI Offense
- Up to $4,000 fine
- Between one month and one year jail time
- Driver license loss for up to two years
- Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three consecutive years.
- Third Offense
- $10,000 fine
- Between two and 10 years in jail
- Driver license loss up to two years
- Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three consecutive years
Once you’ve passed your second DWI conviction within five years, you’ll be required to install a device that prevents your car from starting if you are currently under influence.
- Never drink and drive.
- When going out, designate a driver who shouldn’t drink alcohol at all
- Go home by cab.
- Spend the night over
Finding the right attorney will save you a lot of money and will drastically increases your chances at beating a DWI.