Dangerous Drug Possession In Texas
Dangerous drug possession in the state of Texas can actually be confusing. What is actually meant by possession of a dangerous drug? Does that mean you got caught having some weed? What is dangerous about it? Is it illegal to possess drug paraphernalia in the state of Texas? Even if there were clear answers to those questions, there are drug laws according to Texas and there are federal drug laws as well. You will need to understand which drugs are considered to be the most dangerous, big-league drugs and hard stuff that come with the harshest life-altering, big-league penalties: penalty group one. Not too many people know what they are which increases the chances of being caught off guard by very serious consequences that are associated with being caught. So do yourself a big favor and do some reading on dangerous drug possession in Texas if you want to know how to avoid long prison sentences and huge fines. It is also a good idea to consult with an experienced Houston DUI lawyer.
What is considered to be a dangerous drug in the state of Texas?
Dangerous drug possession in the state of Texas might differ from federal law and other states. Texas likes doing its own things, and this holds true when it comes to its classification system, drug laws, and penalties. In the state of Texas, the group that has been designated as being the most dangerous drug is referred to as penalty group 1. It also has the penalties that are most severe; group 4 is the least dangerous group with the least severe penalties. What is considered a “dangerous” drug possession in Texas? Those drugs that are classified to be in penalty group one are considered to be dangerous due to their potential for being highly addictive and for causing lasting and extreme harm. So possessing a penalty group 1 dangerous drug in the state of Texas, with the exception of when they are used with a prescription for medicinal purposes or at the very smallest levels, have strict penalties associated with them.
The following drugs are included in Penalty Group 1:
Even one possession conviction involving drugs from penalty group 1 carries a felony conviction.
If convicted in Texas of dangerous drug possession, the amount of money you will be charged and how much time you spend in jail will depend on how much of the drug is found in your possession. If you are found to be possessing less than one gram, then you may be fined as much as $10,00 and a 6-month jail sentence. You can receive a 99-year jail term for 400 grams, and it will cost you $100,000 if you are caught with 200 or more grams. Before moving on, here is a special note regarding LSD: it has a penalty group of its own called penalty group 1A due to the fact that it is measured in units instead of grams. Even is possess fewer than 20 units you may get a jail sentence of up to 6 months and a fine of $10,000. The money owed and jail time increase exponentially when you are caught with a greater number of units. If you find yourself needing to be represented in court for a DUI, check out the Butler Law Firm today.
Is possession of prescription drugs such as Xanax a felony in the state of Texas?
You might have noticed that there are several prescription painkillers, like Oxycodone and Hydrocodone that are included in penalty group 1. Many citizens might be caught by surprise that Texas has been charged with prescription drug possession. You will not be arrested for getting your Oxycodone prescription filled at the pharmacy based on doctor’s orders. However, if you get caught distributing, participating in a prescription forgery, or possessing Oxycodone without having a valid reason, then you have committed a felony. You will be given a jail sentence for dangerous drug possession and will be fined $10,000 to $100,000. The same is true for the benzodiazepine Xanax, which is in penalty group 3. This prescription drug, which is also called sticks, footballs, handlebars, or bars, helps to treat anxiety and depression. It is among the most frequently abused of all prescription drugs that are available in the market. Given how popular Xanax is, that means is also one of the drugs that are illegally acquired the most. Possessing only 28 grams or less of Xanax is a third-degree felony, with substantial fines and a 2 to 10-year jail sentence. Xanax possession with an intent to distribute is considered to be a much more serious crime. It may lead to a felony charge or other strict repercussions. Xanax possession with an intent to distribute may be punished by probation, large fines, and a state prison sentence. Possession of dangerous drugs in the state of Texas can result in serious harm to others and yourself, and can also seriously harm your reputation and freedom.
Are you facing a dangerous drug possession charge in Texas?
You need to have immediate representation if you are faced with a drug-related offense charge. As you are reading this article, a district attorney and the police are working together to build up a case against you. Choose an experienced and aggressive Houston DUI lawyer to protect your freedom.
For more information on Butler Law Firm services, check out our blog or contact a Houston DUI lawyer at the Butler Law Firm at (713) 236-8744 for immediate assistance.