Tag: dwi

How Does A DWI Affect Car Insurance

Houston DWI Lawyer: Can A DWI Affect My Insurance?

If you drive while intoxicated in the state of Texas, you will need to deal with serious consequences. Not only will you be arrested with a driving while intoxicated charge and held in jail, but you could also experience various financial problems including fines and higher insurance premiums. Below is a review of the different laws for a DWI in Texas, as well as how it can affect one’s insurance if you were convicted of a DWI charge. If you have been charged with a DWI, it may be best to speak with a Houston DWI Lawyer immediately. Remember, your prior driving record plays a significant role in determining the cost of car insurance, and any prior convictions can translate into high car insurance rates. We will explain why insurers are so concerned with DWI charges.

1. Driving With A High Blood Alcohol Content

If a person has a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher, the individual can be arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol. People holding commercial driving licenses, also known as CDLs, can be considered intoxicated if they present a blood alcohol content of .04 percent or above. A minor caught driving while intoxicated can be arrested and taken into custody regardless of their blood alcohol content level, as long as they have some detectable amount of alcohol within their system.

2. How Can A DWI Affect Your Driving Record?

If you are charged and convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol, you will find it has a negative impact on your driving record. If you are charged in the state of Texas, the charge will remain on your driving record as Texas law does not allow drivers charged with DWI to have the data expunged from their record. Furthermore, it does not remove a record of any driving license suspension or revocation.

3. How Can A DWI Charge Influence Insurance Rates?

According to Insure.com, being charged with a DWI in the state of Texas can have detrimental effects on a person’s insurance rates. After a conviction, the insurance rate can increase by between 30 and 200 percent dependent on the details of the case and the driver’s policy provisions. The majority of drivers are surprised when an insurance company cancels their policy after a DWI conviction; however, insurance companies do not want the risk of insuring people who present with criminal records and questionable driving backgrounds.

4. What Is The SR-22?

In the state of Texas, a driver who is convicted of DWI needs to obtain an insurance rider known as the SR-22. لعبه ضومنة The SR-22 is designed to ensure that high-risk drivers maintain a suitable level of car insurance for a minimum of 2 years following their DWI conviction. As the driver is considered a high-risk option following their DWI conviction, the use of the SR-22 can result in a dramatic increase of car insurance rates. The Butler Law Firm is here to assist you with your case if you are in need of legal representation from a Houston DWI Lawyer.

5. What Are Other DWI Factors To Consider? الكرة اون لاين

Additional factors that could alter a person’s insurance premium following their DWI conviction, involves the driver’s age and gender. أصل لعبة الدومينو Believe it or not, age and gender play a large role in insurance premium calculation after DWI convictions within Texas. Moreover, people who maintain good driving records after their conviction will pay less for insurance because they are placed in the lower risk group.

Speak With A Houston DWI Lawyer

If you are charged with a DWI within Texas, it is recommended that you contact a Houston DWI Lawyer immediately. By hiring a Houston DWI Lawyer, you will protect your interests during court proceedings and can ease the associated stress of a DWI case. You can find content related to DUI car insurance by checking the Houston DWI Lawyer blog(713) 236-8744.

 

What Is The DWI Implied Consent Law in Texas?

Implied Consent DWI Texas Laws – Refusing A Breath or Blood Alcohol Test

What is Texas DWI Implied Consent Law?

The Implied consent law says that Texas drivers who are arrested lawfully for the DWI to take chemical tests to determine their blood alcohol concentration or BAC. egy kínai bukméker meggyilkolása teljes film Tests also detect drugs in a driver’s system. Texas uses DWI instead of a DUI. For a lawful arrest, an officer has to have a probable cause to detect that you have been driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. An officer decides which type – a breath or blood – test that you are asked to take. When you agree to take the test requested by the officer you can rightfully have a blood-test done within 2 hrs of your arrest by a medical expert. You may choose the person but you must pay for it. Ordinarily, an officer can’t force you to do a test. If for any reason you choose that you do not want to get tested, there are consequences but the police officer must respect your decision. For legal representation, you can contact a Houston DWI Attorney at the Butler Law Firm. BAC testing is mandatory under the following circumstances:

  1. You were involved in an incident/accident where death or serious injury occurred.
  2. You were previously convicted for an assault while intoxicated, an intoxication manslaughter, two other previous DWI convictions or just one when a child was in the vehicle.

Arresting officers are required by state law to provide you with the details of the consequences for refusing a test. You may be fined, get jail time if you are convicted, or lose your drivers license. You must also be told that you do not have the right to talk to a Houston DWI Attorney before taking the test and that a refused test can be used against you in a court proceeding.

Implied Consent and Pre-Arrest Tests

Implied consent laws do not require drivers to submit to chemical tests before a lawful arrest. To establish probable cause for an arrest to be made an officer may ask a driver to take a preliminary alcohol screening test or PAS. This test is done using a handheld breath test or breathalyzer outside the car.

Refusing A Post Arrest Exam

If you refuse to take a test, the penalty is a 180-day suspension of your driver’s license. You may lose a license for 2 years if you decide not to take a test that you have on an alcohol or drug enforcement contact in the past ten years. ingyenes nyerőgépes játékok letöltése Prior enforcement contacts include DWI convictions, BAC test refusals, and fail BAC tests.

Is it OK to Refuse a Required Chemical Exam?

It all is dependent on the consequences. Refusal may not keep you from being convicted because you could be found guilty without the results of the test. The prosecution can take up an argument with a jury that shows your refusal to take a test as a show of guilt. You were aware of your intoxication and so, you refused the test. gaminator 777 bonus code 2021

Talk To A Houston DWI Attorney

If you have been arrested in Texas for a DWI, now is the time to get assistance from knowledgeable DWI attorneys like those at Butler Law Firm. A DWI is a conviction that carries serious consequences including one that involves repeat offenses or physical injuries. You should hire a Houston DWI Attorney who knows the legal local court system and all the laws pertaining to DWIs. Make sure to call the Butler Law Firm at (713) 236-8744.

 

DWI Penalties In Texas

DWI Lawyer: A Break Down Of The Driving While Intoxicated Penalties In Houston, TX

1. The First DWI Offense

Conviction with under .15 BAC (blood alcohol content) will include a maximum $2,000 fine and/or 3 to the 180-day jail sentence, as well as 90 to 365-day driver’s license suspension. (Class B Misdemeanor). With a BAC of .15 or higher, the maximum fine increases up to $4,000, with a maximum one year jail time (Class A misdemeanor). For first-time offenders with a .08 to .14 BAC, two years after probation ends they can apply for non-disclosure. kasyno online na pieniądze However, an ignition interlock device must be installed on the car and kept there for 6 months in order to apply and be eligible for non-disclosure. Having a non-disclosure restricts who is able to review your criminal record. To get more information on the program, speak to your DWI lawyer in Houston TX at Butler Law Firm.

2. A DWI Second Offense

The fine is a maximum of $4,000 with a maximum jail time of 30 days minimum up to one year maximum, with a potential 180 day to two-year driver’s license suspension. (Class A Misdemeanor).

3. Third Offense DWI Charge

A maximum fine of $10,000 and/or imprisonment of 2-10 years, and 180 days to 2-year driver’s license suspension. (3rd Degree Felony). Imprisonment refers to a state-run penal institution and a jail is an institution that is run by the county. Also, a felony conviction disqualifies an individual from possessing a firearm and from voting as well.

4. DWI With An Open Alcohol Container

First offense DWI with open alcohol container: Penalties that are discussed above, plus a maximum fine of $2,000 and a six-day minimum jail sentence. (Class B Misdemeanor). If you have gotten this far and are wondering what exactly constitutes as a DWI click here.

5. Bodily Injury Caused By DWI

DWI where there is an accident with a serious bodily injury sustained where intoxication is the proximate cause (Intoxication Assault). DWI penalties are much more severe upon conviction. You might be sentenced to prison for two years up to 10 years. You will be given a sentence of 30 days minimum in jail if you receive a probated sentence. Also, you can be fined up to a maximum of $10,000. (3rd Degree Felony). If you drove the vehicle in such a way that made it into a “deadly weapon,” there will be an additional penalty that will prohibit any good time credit while in prison so that you cannot be considered for any release until at least half of your sentence has been completed. You may want to think about getting legal representation form a DWI lawyer in Houston TX.

6. Death Caused By DWI

DWI where there is a death that occurred due to a proximate cause of your intoxication (Intoxication Manslaughter): If you are convicted you might have to pay a $10,000 maximum fine and/or receive a two to 20 year prison term (Both Manslaughter with using a Deadly Weapon and Intoxication Manslaughter are 2nd degree felonies). The district attorney might stack charges for each death on you. So two deaths could mean a 4 to a 40-year prison term.

7. Prior DWI Conviction & Drag Race Charge

Prior DWI conviction with current drag racing charge: This is a class B misdemeanor, but if the individual has a previous DWI conviction or drag racing conviction, or open alcohol while driving, then it turns into a class A misdemeanor.

8. DWI With Passenger Younger Than 15 Years Old

DWI with passenger under 15 years old: State jail felony. The punishment for this charge for non-enhance state jail felony is 180 days to two years maximum state jail term and maximum $10,000 fine. DWI with a child passenger is when an individual with a DWI has another individual in their vehicle who is less than 15 years old. xtip zaklady sportowe The punishment is being confined in a state jail for a minimum of 180 days and maximum two years and a maximum $10,000 fine. (State Jail Felony).

Next Step Is Hiring A DWI lawyer in Houston TX

In misdemeanor classifications, you might be eligible to receive probation. However, there are no guarantees you will receive a probated fine or jail sentence. If you are granted probation with an intoxication assault conviction, there is a mandatory jail term of a minimum of 30 days as a condition of your probation. With intoxication manslaughter, probation requires a minimum jail sentence of 120 days as a condition of the probation. gry hazardowe bez logowania za darmo However, if convicted of either intoxication manslaughter or intoxication assault, and the jury or court finds you to have committed this offense using a deadly weapon, then you might not be eligible for probation. As you can see, DWI convictions result in some very serious penalties that can have long-lasting effects. Visit our blog for related articles. See a DWI lawyer in Houston TX for more information. (713) 236-8744

Texas Lawyers: What Happens Happens If I Am Charged With A First Offense DWI In Houston?

Houston Lawyers: What You Need To Know If You Are Charged With A First Offense DWI In Texas

Texas is a state in the USA that takes DWI offenses extremely seriously imposing severe financial penalties even for first-time DWI offenders. This offense is one of the most commonplace crimes committed in the United States; however, the majority of the time it is committed by the typical “non-criminal” citizen. Make no mistake, if you are charged with this type of crime you will be treated as a criminal, even if it is a first offense DWI.

What Are The Penalties And Charges For A First Offense DWI?

In the state of Texas, the first offense DWI charge is classified as a Class B misdemeanor. comprimido para piolho preço This means that if charged and convicted, you may be facing a fine of at most ,000 with approximately 180 days in the Texas county jail. ivermectina para cachorro filhote It is vital that you understand this is the minimum charge that can be leveled against you and DWI legislature can become complicated. Based on these potential complications, it is crucial that you understand all details of your specific DWI case.

• The DWI .15 And Above Charge

If you are required to undergo a breath or blood test and the results return with a blood alcohol concentration of a minimum of 0.15 or above, then the DWI charge can be raised to a Class A misdemeanor. The penalty for this type of DWI charge is $4,000 and the possibility of at most 1 year in the Texas county jail. Based on Texas state legislation, if you are charged and convicted of this offense, you may need to install an ignition interlock device in your car. It is important to work with a DWI attorney Houston to handle this situation.

• The DWI With A Passenger Under The Age Of 15 Charge

If you are stopped and found to be under the influence of alcohol with a passenger under the age of 15 in your car, then the offense can escalate to a felony charge. It does not matter if the minor in the vehicle is your child or another individual’s child. This type of felony charge involves a financial penalty of at most $10,000 with a potential 180 days or 2 years in a Texas state jail.

• The Intoxication Assault Charge

The DWI charge is raised to a third-degree felony case if another person is severely injured while you are driving intoxicated. This felony charge carries a financial penalty of at most $10,000 and between 2 and 10 years in the Texas state jail.

• The Intoxication Manslaughter charge

If another individual dies as a result of you driving while intoxicated, then this is classified as a second-degree felony. The intoxication manslaughter charge carries a financial penalty of no more than $10,000 with/or between 2 and 20 years in a Texas state prison.

What Can A Person Expect Regarding First Offense DWI Sentencing?

If you are convicted of a first offense DWI charge in Texas state, you will probably be placed in the county jail for a mandatory 3 days unless you are provided probation. Another possibility is community supervision meaning that you will be sentenced to perform some type of community service. Dependent on the judge’s ruling, you may need to submit to additional conditions when sentenced, such as attending a rehabilitation facility if you are considered as having an alcohol addiction or use problem. You may also need to attend a “DWI school”, which is a 12-hour course that needs to be completed within 180 days after receiving probation. Any person failing to attend the course will have their driver’s license revoked until the course is completed.

Contact Butler Law Firm DWI Lawyers

Potentially the most disadvantageous aspect of being convicted of a DWI in Texas is the societal consequences. If you are charged and convicted, your driver’s license may be suspended. In fact, your driver’s license may be suspended without any conviction for at most 180 days if you refuse to undergo a breath or blood test for 90 days. This is due to the “implied consent” legislation in the Texas state indicating that by driving on the roads you will automatically consent to any sobriety tests. By refusing the tests, your driver’s license will be suspended.

For related blogs by a DWI attorney in Houston Tx, check out our blog. If you might have any questions make sure to reach out by calling us now.

The Houston DWI Attorney: What Does Revocation of a Driver’s License Mean?

The DWI Lawyer: Driving with a Revoked or Suspended License in Houston Texas

Driving in Texas is not a right, it is a privilege. The Department of Public Safety (DPS) might revoke your driver’s license if you are incapable of driving for a medical reason or if you have committed certain offenses. Your driver’s license might also be revoked by the courts. Revocation means the individual’s privilege or driving a car it terminated for a certain period of time and following that a new driver’s license will have to be obtained.

In Texas, When Can A Person’s Driver’s License Be Revoked?

A driver’s license can be revoked under Texas law for multiple reasons, including the following:

  • An arrest for intoxicated driving (DWI) or boating (BWI)
  • Repeated traffic violations
  • Medical disability
  • Operating a vehicle without any insurance
  • Child support that is past due

DPS can suspend or revoke your license automatically for either a medical disability or DWI/BWI arrest

If DPS believes you are not medically capable of driving then an inspection will be performed by the Medical Advisory Board (MAB). Your medical records, as well as other information, will be reviewed by the MAB. Based on the investigation, the MAB will make its recommendations to the DPS – which might result in your driving privileges being revoked or suspended.

Can They Suspend My License If I Refuse A Breath Or Blood Test?

If you are charged with a DWI or BWI arrest, then you will be offered a blood or breath test. Failure or refusal of the test will result in your driving privileges being suspended. The suspension is a civil process and referred to as an Administration License Revocation (ALR). You might also be faced with separate criminal BWI or DWI charges. Once an individual’s driver’s license is revoked, driving with a revoked license is an additional criminal offense. It is a criminal misdemeanor in the state of Texas to drive with a suspended or revoked license. If you are faced with a DWI charge, you should contact a DWI lawyer in Houston to assist you with your case.

What Penalties Are There For Driving with a Revoked or Suspended License?

Depending on the situation, the penalties will vary. For example, if you are older than 21 years old and:

1. Refused a sobriety test:
The 180-day suspension on the first offense
The two-year suspension on subsequent offenses

2. Fail your sobriety test:
A 90-day suspension on the first offense
The one-year suspension on subsequent offenses

For a minor who refuse or fail a blood or breath test, different rules apply. Following your suspension, you will be required to pay fine and complete several forms before your driver’s license is a reissue. If your licenses get suspended based on a medical condition, then your driver’s license might be reinstated if you are able to prove that your condition has either improved or resolved. If you are in need of legal representation for your case contact a Butler Lawfirm attorney immediately.

Getting Caught Driving With A Suspended Or Revoked License

If you get caught driving with either a revoked or suspended driver’s license, then you might be faced with criminal charges. Typically a first-time offender is charged with a Class C misdemeanor and a $500 maximum fine. In cases that involved uninsured drivers, repeat offenders, BWI’s, DWI’s or serious injuries, the penalties might be higher (maximum $4,000 in fines plus one year of jail time).

The DPS at the hearing is required to prove that the officer had:

  • A Probable cause for arresting you or reasonable suspicion for stopping you;
  • Probable cause you were operating a boat or vehicle while being intoxicated;
  • You were placed under arrest and notified what the consequences were for failing or refusing a sobriety test (both in writing and verbally);
  • You were given the opportunity to undergo sobriety testing and you either failed or refused the test.

If DPS is unable to prove one of the elements, then you will be given your driver’s license back. The prosecutor in a criminal case is required to provide that an individual drive while their license was suspended or revoked. The prosecutor typically must also prove you were given notice of the revocation or suspension. gry hazardowe ultra hot deluxe

Are There Any Legal Defenses Available?

If you receive a criminal charge for driving on a suspended or revoked the license, you might have legal defenses available to you. A majority of defenses involve you having a lack of knowledge of the revocation or suspension. For example, it might be a defense if the DPS fails to send your notice of suspension or revocation to you.

What is a Restricted or Occupational License? euro zakłady bukmacherskie

Texas is unique in some respects in that it enables some individuals whose licenses have been suspended to obtain a Restricted or Occupational license. The kind of license allows an individual to commute back and forth to work during their suspension. automaty online za peníze In addition, it enables the individual to drive to be able to compete for their household duties. To obtain one, the individual needs to put in an application with the Texas Department of Public Safety. This application involves giving a description of the various routes that will be driven, along with the hours and days that the person will be driving a vehicle. Not every individual who has their license suspended has an occupational license available to them. In particular, failure to pay required child support, or suspension due to medical reasons will make the individual ineligible for getting a restricted license.

Is There A Way To Get My License Reinstated?

After the suspension period is complete, the license can be reinstated or restored. That involves providing proof of insurance and filing the appropriate paperwork with the Department of Public Safety. There is also a fee that must be paid that is in the range of $100 to $125, depending on what the specific reasons were for the suspension.

For more on Butler Law Firm services, check our blog or you can contact a DWI lawyer in Houston at (713) 236-8744 for immediate assistance.

Finding You The Right DWI Attorney In Houston Texas

3 Tips For Choosing The Best Houston DWI Attorney

Have you recently been charged with a DWI in Houston, Texas? This is an unfortunate event that can severely impact y our finances, your future employment, and may even lead to jail time. It’s in your best interest to find the best Houston DWI attorney to assist you with your court case. Here are three tips that will help you choose the right lawyer for the job.

1. Know What Your Options Are.

There’s nothing fun about being charged with a DUI. It’s only natural to want to get the process over with as quickly as possible. Even so, you need to stop and take the time to consider all of your possible options. The last thing that you want to do is rush into a poor decision.

At some point, the Administrative License Revocation Program (ALR Program) will send you a letter with a suspension notice for your license. You will then have a total of 15 days to assess your options and choose a course of action. It’s a good idea to use this time wisely and learn as much as possible about your options.

You should use that time to contact local attorneys in the Houston area. Discuss the case with several different attorneys, listen to their advice, and compare what they have to say. Your goal should be to have the best possible legal defense by the end of those 15 days. That may require requesting referrals, reading online reviews, and creating a list of possible attorneys.

2. Don’t Fall For Marketing Hype.

Butler Law Firm | The Right Houston DWI AttorneyBusinesses need marketing to succeed. Unfortunately, many take it too far and advertise bold claims that they know aren’t exactly true. This is true for many different markets, including DWI and DUI lawyers. Many will claim that they are DWI specialists with all of the experience and training needed to win your case.

In reality, those lawyers may not have the skills needed to defend you at all. Some of them make money simply by moving clients through the system regardless of the outcome of the case. Such lawyers certainly don’t care for your interests.

Does that mean there are no true DWI/DUI specialists in Houston? Absolutely not. As you spend your time speaking with various attorneys you will come to find those who really are specialists the field of DWI/DUI law. Those are the lawyers you want to add to your list for further consideration. كاس امم اوروبا 2024 But how can you tell the difference between the two?

A good indication of true specialist is when the lawyer mounts their own investigation into the case. This is something that a DWI specialist who cares about your defense will always do. On the other hand, if they are just a law firm with a savvy marketing team, then they likely won’t spend money investigating the case. You should ask them if they plan to investigate the case and use that information to determine their true intention.

There are other factors to look for as well. For example, a true DWI/DUI specialist will handle primarily cases that relate to their specialization and do so on a consistent basis. Having handled a few similar cases in the past doesn’t make a lawyer an expert or a specialist. Such lawyers can easily become overwhelmed by the complexity and constantly changing nature of DWI law.

Gauge the experience of the lawyer by asking them about their experience with cases similar to yours. العاب حقيقية How many similar cases have they handled in the last 12 months? شيش لعبه What is their overall success rate for DWI cases? And find out if they are certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. The best Houston DWI attorney will have a lot of experience, a high success rate, and the needed certification.

This brings up the third tip, which is all about asking questions.

3. Get Answers To The Important Questions.

You need to get answers to the important questions before signing any deals with a lawyer. Your future is at stake so don’t feel at all shy about asking a stream of questions. Here are a few that you should consider asking any potential lawyer.

Do you have experience handling these types of cases in Texas?

It’s always a good idea to work with an experienced attorney. And that doesn’t just mean an attorney with experience in general. This is a DWI case, which means you want a lawyer who has experience with other DWI cases. They should handle similar cases every month.

Are you going to conduct an investigation?

This question was briefly touched on earlier, but it’s important enough for a second reminder. A DWI specialist with your interest at heart will definitely launch their own private investigation into the case. If they don’t, then they are likely more worried about their profit margin than your legal defense.

Do you foresee any difficulties with the case?

DWI law is extremely complex and is often changing. You need to do your best to work with the attorney and provide any documents they need. If they foresee any potential difficulties, then try to work with them to find potential solutions. You don’t want to find yourself working against your attorney while they are trying to protect you.

Are you going to handle the case yourself?

It’s not uncommon for large law firms to use different lawyers than the one whom you actually spoke to. While this isn’t always a bad thing itself, it’s important that you know this beforehand. You will want to find out about the attorney who will actually handle your case and their expertise. The same rules apply to that attorney as would any other attorney you interview.

Getting The Help You Deserve.

While it’s certainly easier than defending yourself in court, choosing the best Houston DWI attorney is still a difficult task. Use the three tips and additional questions above to make the process as easy as possible. Contact our office today to speak with a local DWI lawyer about your case.

Butler Law Firm Addresses DWI Lookback Periods

Understanding A DWI Lookback Period In Texas

Butler Law Firm | DWI Lookback Period In HoustonWhen an individual is convicted of a DWI in the state of Texas, it is going to leave a negative mark on their driving record as well as a criminal record. There are many companies that will not hire an individual who has a criminal record or a DWI. If the DWI was labeled as a felony, it is going to put the individual at more of a disadvantage of finding work and even housing, as many landlords will not rent to convicted felons.

With so much negativity surrounding a DWI, one must ask themselves, when will the DWI be removed from my record? Unfortunately, in the state of Texas, there is no such thing as a lookback period. In fact, a previous DWI conviction will always be looked into if a new DWI charge is created. An example of this is an individual can be arrested for a second DWI in 2017 and ten years from now they can be convicted of a third DWI, even though a considerable amount of time has passed.

Knowing that a DWI is never going to disappear from your record it is essential that you fight hard if you have been accused of a DWI. There are going to be times when only a DWI attorney Houston TX is going to be able to stop a permanent mark from being applied to your record

Is It Possible To Get A DWI Conviction Expunged?

In Texas, they will allow certain criminal records to be sealed or expunged. However, in the case of a DWI conviction, it is a permanent situation and will never be expunged. As you can see, this is one of the reasons you must fight a conviction aggressively. However, if an individual was arrested for a DWI but never charged or the charges were dismissed, it may be possible to have that arrest expunged from your record. ألعاب لربح المال In addition, expungement is available for low-level alcohol-related misdemeanors, just keep in mind, not for the majority of DWI offenses. It is best to bring all legal questions to a DWI attorney in Houston to find out if expungement would be possible after an arrest and if it would help with any subsequent convictions.

An option is record sealing which would help to prevent the escalation of any DWI conviction in the state of Texas. Once a record has been sealed, it is much more difficult for a third party to gain access to your file without a court order or warrant. استراتيجيات الروليت It is essential to know that any law enforcement agency will be able to view your arrest and driving record, which means that an officer will be able to tell if you have had a previous DWI regardless of a sealed record. However, there are many benefits with a sealed record, so it is best to consider talking over the situation with a DWI lawyer. العاب النت الحقيقيه

We Focus On DWI Defense

One of the most important aspects after a DWI defense is to align yourself with an attorney that is only focused on DWI. If you have been arrested for a DWI, it is essential that you turn to the best Houston Texas DWI attorney for legal protection Our goal is to have all the charges against you dismissed which means you will never have to worry about anything being tied to your permanent record. Of course, we will need to discuss the specifics of your case and create an optimal defense strategy for you. Do not wait until it is too late, contact us today or call Butler Law Firm and allow us to begin fighting for your rights.

What You Should Know About An Under-aged DUI

Getting Involved With A DUI When Under 21

Butler Law Firm | Under-aged Drinking in Houston TXThere are studies that have shown that close to 40% of the drunk driving issues that end in fatalities happened in Texas in 2014 with the drivers being under 21. One of the top reasons for fatalities on the road is drunk driving, and that’s why getting a DUI at under 21 means stricter penalties. If you’re not old enough to drink and have been charged with a DUI, you need to know what the consequences are. dr jean dodd and ivermectin In the blog here, we’ll let you know what a DUI attorney can tell you about penalties you’re faced with.

Texas is what is known as a zero tolerance state.

If you’re over 21 years of age, you can get a DUI if your BAC is more than .08% but Texas is a state with zero tolerance. If you are under 21, this means that you may be charged with a DUI if you have a BAC over .00%. If you drink even one drink and drive then you could get a DUI if you’re not 21 years of age.

The Legal Problems That Stem From An Underage DUI

If you’re arrested for getting a DUI, you could end up dealing with these penalties.

The First DUI

  • Going to jail from 3 to 180 days
  • A fine reaching up to $2,000
  • A license that’s suspended for up to 90 days

Your Second DUI

  • You could go to jail for one year
  • The fine will be up to $4000
  • A suspended license lasting a year

There are more problems than just these if you are a driver under 21 that gets a DUI. It depends on what happened, but here are some things you can face:

  • Endangering a child violations
  • A minor in possession charge
  • Giving alcohol to minors
  • Alcohol soliciting
  • Possession of an ID that’s fake
  • More traffic violations

When you get a DUI it can make you have to pay more in insurance costs, too. A lot of insurance companies see someone with a DUI as someone who is a risk and they may even cancel your policy. ivermectina para cachorro dose Other times, they may make you pay a hundred or more for a period of time after you get the DUI. You can end up paying $12,000 extra in insurance over just 5 years!

If you got arrested for being an underage drinker with a DUI, you need a DUI lawyer in Houston that can help. rabbit dosage ivermectin The process involving a DUI can be hard to deal with, especially if you’re underage. Butler Law Firm has a team of professionals that will work as hard as they can to help this turn out better for you.

You should contact us today by giving us a call to get a consultation that’s free.

Stay Safe With A DWI Attorney In Houston After Labor Day Weekend!

Were You Driving Labor Day Weekend?Highway Patrol Crackdowns Were Expected!

Labor Day weekend ran from Friday, September 1st until the 4th, which is Monday and Labor Day itself. jak wygrywać zakłady sportowe Every year, this is a short break from the hard-working schedules so many Texans live regularly so they can enjoy some time with friends and family. They might get together at home or take quick road trips inside the Lone Star State. Unfortunately, the annual Labor Day weekend also carries with it many driving while intoxicated arrests, both across the nation and the state, leading to an increase in business and demand for DWI lawyer in Houston TX professionals.

Butler Law Firm | Houston Labor Day Weekend DWIsTexas has a number of local and statewide law enforcement agencies, and like their colleagues across the United States, they are very aware of the higher odds of motorists getting behind the wheel after they’ve had too much to drink at their Labor Day festivities. That awareness actually stirs up overzealousness in a few officers, who might start seeing drunk drivers anywhere they look, even if the driver is not actually legally intoxicated. Certain police departments might also have higher arrest quotas for DWI’s over the Labor Day weekend, which puts undue and unintentional pressure on their officers to put more drivers in cuffs over the course of their shift. zakłady online sts

In any case, it honestly shouldn’t matter to you if police officers are arresting people unjustly or not, since the only real way to stay out of your own DWI trouble is just not ever drink and then drive over Labor Day weekend. Our DWI lawyers in Houston TX are ready to stand beside you and preserve your legal rights, as well as your driving privileges, no matter what, should you get arrested for something like DWI. On the other hand, we’d much rather see everyone around us just stay safe to start with.

Here’s a handy list of effective ways to have to avoid needing a DWI lawyer in Houston TX over the labor day weekend so you can just avoid drinking and driving as a combination:

Designated driver

Also known as DD in many cases, this is perhaps the oldest trick known to exist, and yet, it’s still more effective than any other option. Have your immediate circle of Labor Day friends and family choose someone to be the designated driver, and then hold them accountable for their pledge not to do any drinking. Even a single alcoholic beverage is too many for someone who is the DD.

Collect the keys

At a number of parties, the party host collects the keys of attending drivers and puts them some place safe. When someone wants to leave, they have to prove their sobriety to a sober host so it’s established they’re okay to drive. Always check with the hosts of any Labor Day event or party you go to in order to find out if they’re doing that.

Ridesharing

If your smartphone doesn’t have a ridesharing app already on it, put one there. Most Androids already have Uber on them, for instance. If you get too drunk for driving safely, then a ridesharing app might be your safe way home. sts zakłady online You can always expect higher than usual rates over Labor Day weekend due to increased demand, but your per-mile fee is going to be a lot cheaper than a crash or an arrest.

Houseguests

Do you personally know the hosts of your Labor Day weekend event or party that you’re going to? Do you trust them? Ask them if they’re going to let intoxicated drivers spend a night safely in a guest room or couch. As always, it’s a lot better to be late tomorrow then have a crash or arrest today.

Pull over

There are times where alcohol needs a while before really starting to impact the cognitive abilities and motor skills of a person. It’s entirely feasible that a driver might start heading home after a Labor Day event or festivity thinking they’re safe to drive, just to find out they’re actually not when already on the road. In these situations, the best possible idea is to pull entirely off the road, hopefully into a parking area, where you can call a taxi or ride to get you home. Be mindful of the fact that if a police officer discovers you asleep in your car while you’re intoxicated, you can still face a DWI charge, even if the vehicle is off and not moving.

In Closing

We know that folks sometimes make mistakes, but if you found yourself getting arrested for a DWI over the Labor Day weekend, then we sincerely hope that you consider us as your DWI lawyer in Houston TX if you need veteran representation you can trust for compassion. Find out just that quality of legal service and let us make your case; call or contact us right away from a no-cost, no-obligation consultation with a member of our team.

What Happens If You’re Convicted Of A DWI In Texas

What You Need To Know About A DWI in Texas

The state of Texas has recently begun cracking down hard on DWIs. If you’re caught driving while intoxicated in Texas, you face some of the toughest penalties in the country. One important thing to remember is even if you are arrested for a DWI in Texas, that arrest doesn’t automatically make you guilty.

DWI In Texas Is Serious

Butler Law Firm | DWI Lawyer in Houston TexasIf you are arrested for DWI in Texas, you must appear in court in Texas to face the charges. It doesn’t matter if you are a Texas resident or a visitor to the state, you must still appear in the Texas court system and can be charged under Texas law. gaminator letöltés ingyen pc It’s a good idea to discuss your situation with Houston Texas DWI attorneys who are experienced in dealing with DWI’s in Texas.

Texas law provides for very severe penalties if a person is convicted of a DWI. According to a Texas Department of Transportation fact sheet, the penalties for a DWI conviction will depend on whether it is a first offense or if the person has more than one Texas DWI conviction.

The blood alcohol concentration (BAC)level for a DWI in Texas is .08 or higher. If you are stopped and your surpasses this number, you will be arrested for a DWI.

What If You’re Not A Texas Resident?

It doesn’t matter if you don’t live in Texas. If you are arrested and charged with a DWI in the state, you must face the same penalties as a Texas resident. If you are a Texas resident and charged with a DWI in another state, you will face that state’s penalties and could face penalties in Texas as well.

Again according to a Texas Department of Public Safety fact sheet, a resident of Texas convicted of a DWI in another state may lose their driving privileges in Texas. The law also states that anyone who loses their driving privileges or has them suspended in another state is automatically ineligible for a driver’s license in Texas. This means a DWI conviction in another state that results in the forfeiture of a driver’s license could make the Texas resident unable to get a license in Texas, too.

How To Get Your Driver’s License Reinstated

There are ways to get your license reinstated in Texas, but it is best to work with an attorney experienced in dealing with Texas DWI laws. Our Houston Texas DWI attorneys can help.

DWI Penalties In Texas

If you are arrested in Texas and charged with a DWI, the first thing you should do is hire Houston Texas DWI attorneys. It doesn’t matter if you’re not a Texas resident, you will still have to deal with Texas DWI laws and being from another state can further complicate the issue. The punishment if you are convicted will depend on if you’ve ever been convicted of a DWI in the past.

Penalties for a first DWI conviction in Texas can include:

  • Between 3 and 180 days in jail
  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Forfeiture of your driver’s license for up to a year. You may also be required to pay a fee to retain your license.

Penalties for a second DWI conviction in Texas include:

  • Between one month and one year in jail
  • Up to a $4,000 fine
  • The forfeiture of your driver’s license for up to two years. You may also be required to pay a fee to retain your license.

Penalties for a third or more DWI conviction in Texas include:

  • Between two to ten years in jail
  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • The forfeiture of your driver’s license for up to two years. You may also be required to pay a fee to retain your license.

Additionally, if you are convicted of a DWI more than two times in five years, you will be ordered to install a switch in your vehicle that is designed to prevent you from starting the vehicle if you’ve been drinking.

If you are stopped and arrested for a DWI in Texas, you will face Texas penalties. It doesn’t matter if you are a resident of Texas or a visitor from another state or country.

If I get pulled over for DWI in Houston what rights do I have? Obviously, the best way to prevent a DWI charge is by not drinking and driving. If however, you do drive after having a glass of wine with dinner or drinking a beer with a friend and you’re pulled over for DWI in Houston, then you will need to know what your rights are.

You are not required by law to agree to take a breath test or blood alcohol test and you do have the right to refuse to do so. lóverseny fogadóiroda But there are consequences that you’ll have to deal with if you choose to refuse. Your refusal to take the test will result in the automatic suspension of your license. The suspension lasts for 6 months.

When you are stopped you are not required by law to answer any questions asked by the officer. nagytétes tippmix tippek Regardless of whether you are pulled over for some other traffic violation or you are stopped at a DWI checkpoint and the officer-involved feels you may be intoxicated, you don’t have to answer their questions. You are required to give them your license and the car registration but you do not have to tell the officers where you were before being stopped, you don’t have to tell them where you’re going, and you’re not required to answer if you consumed any alcohol or how much.

If the law enforcement officer asks you to take a field sobriety test, you can refuse to do so. If the officer asks you to follow an object with your eyes, to walk a straight line, to repeat the alphabet forwards or backward, or to count numbers, you are not required under the law to do any of these things or to comply with the officer’s request. In short, you are not required to submit to any field sobriety test. Refusing the officer will likely result in your being arrested but experienced Houston Texas DWI attorneys can help you with your case.

Can Houston Texas DWI Attorneys Help?

The instant that you are charged with suspicion of driving while intoxicated in Texas you should call an experienced defense lawyer to handle your case. The lawyer can help make sure that all your rights are properly and effectively protected. The prosecutor and the police are not on your side. They are specifically looking for any evidence that can support their case against you when you go to court. Regardless of whether it’s a DWI or any other criminal charge, or with causing injury to another person, the court and the DA’s office are never your friends.

The charge of DWI is very rarely an open and shut case. You may think if a blood test or breathalyzer shows that you have drugs or alcohol in your system that there’s nothing you can do to fight the charges. That is what the District Attorney’s office would like you to believe but it’s not the case. There are even cases where the evidence can be shown to have been done incorrectly which can result in it being excluded from the court case.

An experienced attorney can make sure that all the evidence is handled exactly as it should be and if it’s not, that it’s not included in the case against you. They can help you to get your driving privileges back even before your court case has concluded. But it’s important that you contact an attorney quickly because there are time constraints on how long you can take before filing for those privileges. Your attorney can represent you in court to compel the court to give you back your privileges so that you can continue working and providing for your family. These are just some of the services that an experienced attorney can help you with when you’ve been charged with DWI in Texas.

Butler Law Firm has experienced Houston Texas DWI attorneys that are dedicated to your defense and are capable of getting you the best possible outcome. If you have a charge against you of DWI in Texas then don’t delay. Get a free consultation by calling or contacting us today.