What Penalties Are Associated with Texas Intoxication Manslaughter?
Driving while intoxicated is illegal in all 50 states but if you are in a fatality related accident in the state of Texas and are under the influence, it is considered a felony. You will be charged with intoxication manslaughter, something that is generally referred to as DWI manslaughter in different states. This type of charge can also be levied against any driver who is under the influence of any drugs and is responsible for the loss of life to any passenger or driver in their vehicle or another.
Manslaughter is different from murder, as it does not likely have any malicious intent involved. In addition, there is not typically any forethought associated with a manslaughter charge. In the state of Texas, however, severe penalties are levied against individuals who have committed this crime. They are considered to be a deterrent penalty, meant to keep other individuals from committing this crime while at the same time, punishing the offender. As far as intoxication manslaughter is concerned, the charges are also meant to keep other people from driving under the influence.
Intoxication manslaughter is a second-degree felony in the state of Texas. It is typically punishable by the following:
- Two-year minimum sentence of up to 20 years in prison.
- Maximum $10,000 in fines
- Maximum 800 hours of community service
- Loss of license from 180 days up to two years
- Probation with 120 days in jail
The prosecution in intoxication manslaughter cases is not likely to accept a plea bargain or to go easy on the charges. They are also interested in making an example of the offender and if needed, will take the case to litigation. In the state of Texas, anyone who has been charged with this crime will need to rely on a good defense lawyer who was willing to stand by them and fight for them in a court of law.
The Benefits of Using Us As Your Houston DWI Attorney
When you use our law firm, you can rest assured of something very important. We are aware that we all make mistakes and these types of charges can be based on a variety of certain false information. In addition, we know that the justice system in the state of Texas must provide what is legally available for our clients. When it comes to taking care of DWI defense in Houston or anywhere in Texas, we are dedicated to providing the best option available. You can contact us on the phone or by filling out our convenient web form to learn more about your rights and how we can help build a defense. All of this can be discussed during your free case evaluation.
Call Butler Law Firm today for immediate assistance!