Whether you’re a first-timer or a seasoned driver, there are several things you should know about DUI in Texas. This includes the laws that govern driving under the influence, the risks involved, and what to do if you’re arrested.
What is a DUI?
Generally, DUI in Texas refers to driving while intoxicated. Depending on the amount of alcohol, the driver’s blood, or breath, the crime can be a Class A misdemeanor or a felony. Typical penalties include fines up to $500, community service, and a license suspension.
In Texas, underage drivers are prohibited from driving with any detectable alcohol in their systems. A minor’s blood alcohol content (BAC) can range from.08 to.15, and it’s illegal for a minor to drive with a BAC of.15 or higher. If the officer smells alcohol on the driver’s breath, the driver is suspected of driving under the influence and will be charged with a DUI.
A DWI charge can also carry a second-degree felony, which means the driver will be required to spend up to two years in jail. If an intoxicated driver causes injury, the charge can be upgraded to a third-degree felony. In addition, if the driver is under the age of 15 and has a child passenger in the car, they can be charged with DWI with a child in the vehicle. This carries a maximum penalty of $10,000 and up to two years in jail.
If you are charged with a DUI, your license will be suspended for up to 60 days. This will be followed by a mandatory drug awareness program, alcohol awareness classes, and mandatory alcohol testing. If you refuse a chemical test, your license will be suspended for at least 90 days.
In addition to the license suspension, first-time DWI offenders will have their license suspended for up to a year. Second-time DWI offenders will have their licenses suspended for at least 18 months.
Those who commit a DUI in Texas are subject to harsh penalties, including fines and jail time. There are also many other types of penalties that can be imposed by the court.
The punishments vary depending on the number of prior DUI offenses. In addition, the number of blood alcohol concentrations will determine the severity of the charge. Those who are convicted of a third offense will face enhanced penalties, including vehicle confiscation and imprisonment.
The DWI child endangerment law is another law that carries stiff penalties for intoxicated drivers. Those who drive under the influence while accompanied by an underage passenger are subject to charges of intoxication and manslaughter. In this case, the driver’s license will be suspended for up to two years and he or she will have to serve at least 180 days in a state jail.
The second offense is a class A misdemeanor. This type of offense carries a fine of not more than $4000. It can also lead to jail time, from 30 days to one year.
Those convicted of a second DUI in Texas will face a license suspension of up to 180 days. They will also have to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for a year.
If a drunk driver is convicted of a third DWI, he or she will face immediate suspension of their driving privileges for two years. They will also have to install an ignition Interlock Device (IID) in their vehicle for a year.
Drivers who refuse to take a blood or breath test are also subject to severe consequences. They will have their license suspended for up to a year. They will also have to pay a fine of up to $500, which can be added to other penalties.
Dangers Of DUI
Texans are often accused of driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol. This is a serious offense that has numerous penalties. Some of these include jail time, hefty fines, and license suspension.
Texas DUI laws are designed to protect the state’s citizens and discourage people from drinking and driving. The legal limit for intoxication is 0.08 percent. For commercial truck drivers, it is 0.04. If a person’s blood alcohol concentration exceeds this limit, he or she is considered to be under the influence of alcohol and in violation of the law.
In Texas, drivers are required to carry an ignition interlock device if they have a second drunk driving conviction. This prevents any known drunk drivers from starting their vehicles.
The most common cause of accidents in the United States is drunk driving. In 2013, 13,000 Americans died in alcohol and driving-related crashes. Sadly, Texas leads the nation in alcohol-related fatalities.
In Texas, it is illegal to drive if your blood alcohol concentration is over 0.08 percent. You may also be charged with DUI if you are on drugs or prescription medications. If you are arrested for a DUI, your car may be seized and you may be subject to civil lawsuits. You will also have to pay outstanding charges to the Texas Department of Transportation.
The best way to protect yourself is to avoid drinking and driving altogether. Having a sober driver in the car can be a lifesaver. You can also take a defensive driving class. In addition to helping you avoid a drunk driving crash, this will also teach you how to drive safely after you’ve been drinking.
Houston is the fifth-worst city in the country for drunk driving. Compared to other cities, Houston’s rate of intoxicated drivers is twice the statewide average.
Getting a DUI charge in Texas can affect your life and your career. A criminal record can make it difficult to find work or qualify for a professional license. A conviction can also impede getting a home loan, renting a house, or even going to college. It is important to have a legal professional to help you fight your DUI charges.
A DUI is a criminal offense that can carry high fines and penalties. The penalties can vary according to the type of offense and the person’s prior criminal history. Those with a record can be required to install an ignition interlock device in their car.
First-time offenders will have their licenses suspended for at least 60 days. They will also have to pay a fine of $500. They may also have to take a mandatory alcohol awareness course. In addition, the court can order them to complete a mandatory community service program.
The punishments increase for the second and third offenses. For a second offense, the driver will have their license suspended for 180 days to two years. A third offense will result in a 10-year prison term.
In addition, if the blood alcohol concentration was over 0.010, the driver’s license will be suspended for at least a year. If the child under the age of 15 was a passenger in the vehicle, the driver’s license will be suspended until the child turns 16 years of age.
A person with a child under the age of fifteen who is a passenger in a vehicle with a drunk driver can be charged with a felony. The penalties for this offense include up to 2 years in state jail.
Finding The Best DUI Lawyer
Getting charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a terrifying experience. Not only are you facing jail time, but you can also be forced to pay steep financial penalties. And a DUI conviction on your record is permanent.
Many people do not know how to navigate the court system, which is why it’s so important to hire an attorney to represent you. Your attorney will be able to protect your rights from the start, allowing you to have a clean slate and a fresh start.
The best attorneys for DWI defense will have several qualifications. They will have experience handling DWI cases and will have handled similar cases before. They will be experienced in courtroom tactics, including plea bargaining and diversion programs. They will be knowledgeable in legal strategies and will have the expertise to defend you throughout the entirely legal system.
You should also ask for a good-faith estimate of your legal fees. These can vary depending on the complexity of your case. You should also inquire about the firm’s payment plan.
It’s best to hire a lawyer who is committed to your case. It’s also a good idea to choose a lawyer who is a good listener. This is an important consideration because your attorney will need to understand the facts of your case to be able to fight for your rights.
Contact us or call us today if you need a help from an experienced DUI attorney. Visit our blog for more related articles.